Help & Support
Our help database contains answers to most of the common questions regarding our products.
If you are unable to locate a satisfactory answer for your query by searching here, please contact us.
I lost my Cbox embed code. Where can I get it?
Your Cbox embed code is available at your control panel. You need this code to install your Cbox on your website.
Also on that page is your Quick Link — a URL which you can use to access your Cbox directly in your browser or on your mobile device.
How do I put my Cbox on my website?
Once you have created your Cbox account, go to the Publish page of your control panel. The code and steps for embedding your Cbox are provided there for a number of common platforms.
If you install your Cbox and all you see is code, or nothing at all, your web host may be removing or otherwise interfering with the HTML iframe tags that Cbox uses. Your Cbox code needs to be pasted into an area of your site that accepts HTML without modification. This may mean switching your editor from "rich text" or "WYSIWYG" mode into HTML-editing or "raw" mode, or you may need to open your template files in a plain-text editor like Notepad.
Remember that you always have the option of posting or sharing your Cbox Quick Link — this gives visitors direct access to your Cbox in a full-screen layout, so it's perfect as a mobile option or for stand-alone use.
How do change my Cbox's style to go with my site's design?
Go to the Theme editor in your control panel. There you can specify the fonts and colours of your Cbox, using a point-and-click editor. You can always reset your theme to one of the preset defaults there, if you would like to start again.
If you have a Premium or Pro Cbox you can edit CSS, which gives you complete control over presentation.
How do I delete messages?
If you have a Premium or Pro Cbox, you can create a moderator name for yourself at your Users page, and then log in on your Cbox using the "profile" link. You will see a delete icon [x] next to each message in your Cbox, and you will not have to log in at your control panel at all to delete messages.
Alternatively, visit your Messages page to delete messages individually or in bulk. Deleted messages are removed from your public Cbox history, but are preserved in your Archives.
Can I make my Cbox transparent?
Yes. In the Theme editor, simply delete the colour codes for the main and form background ("BG") elements. This will make the Cbox transparent, allowing whatever is behind the Cbox to show through.
Note that any pop-ups generated by a transparent Cbox will have the default background colour — usually white. If your font colour is light, it may be invisible in popups. You can fix this by editing the CSS to introduce a background-color rule for popups.
What payment methods are available?
We accept payment via PayPal. PayPal accepts most credit and debit cards, and depending on your region, you may be able to check out without creating a PayPal account. In some regions it is also possible to pay via bank transfer ("eCheck") through PayPal.
If you have any difficulties making payment, please contact us, and we can assist.
What happens to my credit when I upgrade or renew early?
When you renew your service with us, your paid term is extended by the additional time that you purchase, regardless of the remaining credit. This means you never lose any time. For example, if your term ends on 21 September, but you renew early, purchasing 12 months in July, then your term is extended to 21 September next year.
Upgrading Premium to Pro
When you upgrade from Premium to Pro, your credit is reset for the new plan. Remaining Premium credit is however held on your account, and if you have sufficient credit, you can contact us to request a pro-rated conversion after your upgrade.
What is Moderated chat and voice permission?
A Moderated Cbox requires that messages be manually approved before they are published.
Normally, all users can post to your public Cbox, and everyone can see their messages. If you enable Moderated chat, then only voiced users can post directly. Unvoiced users' messages are redirected to a special channel where moderators can view and approve them.
This setting enables proactive moderation. It's important if you are concerned about your platform's brand but still want your Cbox to be publicly-accessible. It's also useful if you host live chats where you may want to control the volume and relevance of published messages by accepting only the ones you want, and at the appropriate time.
Using Moderated chat
For testing, it's helpful to open another instance of your Cbox in an incognito/private tab. This allows you to log in as a guest in one tab and as a Mod in the other.
When you enable this setting, a shadow channel is created. Regular users cannot access it, but a Mod or Admin user on the public Cbox will see a "mod channel" link or "thumbs up" button. Clicking this button opens the shadow channel, and shows any messages that are awaiting approval. These messages can be published (i.e. re-posted) to the public Cbox by clicking the [a]/"tick" button in the mod tools next to each message.
Voice permission
Note that when users register they do not automatically get voice. So, if you have existing registered users, before you enable Moderated chat, you might first want to voice them.
Mods and admins always have voice. This means they can always post directly to your public Cbox. Registered users (other than mods and admins) can be voiced and unvoiced from within your Cbox by clicking the [v]/"plus" button in the mod tools next to their messages. Unregistered guest users cannot be granted this permission, however.
Voice permission grants a user direct publication access to your Cbox, without any of the special permissions of mods or admins. It is useful in cases where the user is trusted and/or conversation established.
Moderated channels
Moderation works in conjunction with channels, too. The global setting controls whether new channels are created in Moderated mode or not. The per-channel setting is maintained even if the global setting is later changed.
Commands
There are a number of commands you can enter in your Cbox to perform actions that would otherwise require a tap or click, or that are not available through other means.
Note that commands are not formally supported by Cbox, and are liable to change, or not to function, at any time.
Enter commands as if they were messages in your Cbox:
- //debug [watch] — shows debugging information.
- //reload [clean] — refreshes the Cbox iframe. Enter //reload clean to clear local data. (This will log you out and reset preferences.)
- //ignore joe — ignore the user joe. Leave out the name to get a list of currently-ignored users. Repeat the command with an ignored name to un-ignore that person.
- //pm mary hello! — sends hello! to the user called mary. (Requires private messaging to be enabled.)
- //colors — open a colour palette to change your message text colour (requires boxcode to be enabled.)
- //tetris, //sudoku, //wordsearch game-id — for wordsearch, invite another user to enter the same command, with the same game-id, to join your game.
Every time I do something in the control panel, I get logged out.
You need to have cookies enabled in your browser in order to use the control panel. Your browser may be configured not to accept cookies, or it may be in a "private browsing" mode, or you may have a plugin or extension that is restricting them. Test in another browser if possible.